Cemeteries Vienna

CENTRAL CEMETERY ENTRANCE I

Grabmal am alten jüdischen Friedhof1110 Vienna, Simmeringer Hauptstrasse

With the 19th century expansion of Vienna, the Jewish community founded in 1877, a burial site of 260,000 m². Up to 1916, up to 80,000 were buried there. Of the 60,000 graves, nearly 3,000 were destroyed in 1945 by errant bombs.
The cemetery is cared for by employees of IKG – as far as the limited financial resources allow.
The restoration of 39 honour graves was finally finished in 2011 with the help of the municipality Vienna and the “Bundesdenkmalamt”. Among them are the graves of Adolf Fischhof, Alfred Gerngross, Karl Goldmark, Moritz Königwarter, Ignaz Kuranda, Cantor Solomon Sulzer and Otto Zuckerkandl.

For visitors :
Tel: +43-1/ 767 62 52

Map of the Old Jewish Cemetery, 1950

CENTRAL CEMETERY, ENTRANCE IV

1110 Vienna, Simmeringer Hauptstr. 244

This 250,000 m² large cemetery has been in use since 1916, when the Jewish section in Tor I became too small. Up to now, 60,000 Jewish community members have found their final resting place here. This includes the reburial in the eighties of those buried in the Döblinger cemetery during the 19th century and also the reburial in the years 1938-1945 of the so–called “non–Aryan” Christians.
The cemetery is maintained by employees of the IKG and is the seat of cemetery administration.
The Vienna city government’s department MA 7 has restorated 21 honorary graves in 2008 / 09.

For visitors :
Tel: +43-1/ 767 62 52
Fax: +43-1/ 768 15 22
e-mail: friedhof-tor-IV@ikg-wien.at

April, 1st – September, 30.:
Sunday, Monday, Wednesday:
7 a.m. – 5 p.m.(entrance until 16:30)
Thursday: 7 a.m.– 7 p.m. (entrance until 6:30 p.m.)
Friday and Erew Jom Tov: 7 a.m.– 3 p.m. (entrance until 2:30 p.m.)

Oktober, 1st – March, 31. :
Sunday through Thursday: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m. (entrance until 3:30 p.m.)
Friday : 8 a.m.- 2 p.m. (entrance until 1:30 p.m.)
For Schabbatot and jewish holidays the cemetery remains closed.

Map of the New Jewish Cemetery

CEMETERY IN OF THE “ROSSAU”

Grabstein Friedhof Seegasse
1090 Vienna, Seegasse 9/ Entrance from Pensionistenheim (retirement home)

This cemetery goes back to the middle of the 16th Century and is the oldest surviving Jewish cemetery in Vienna and also the oldest cemetery of Vienna. It was in use until 1783. Floodwaters from the Danube continually displaced the gravestones and after the receeding of the flood were only placed close to their original locations. Flood control on the Danube helped resolve the problem. To avoid destruction the remaining gravestones were placed in 1943 in the Zentralfriedhof, Tor IV. In 1984, they were returned and set up again in the original cemetery.
The cemetery is now maintained by the board of trustees of the Pensionistenheim (retirement home) and maintained by Vienna’s parks and gardens service.
The first redevelopment step with approximately 20 gravestones was done end of of 2011 with the help of the municipality Vienna and “Bundesdenkmalamt”. They were set up again at their historical places after an exact measurement of the area done by Israeli Rabbi specialists.

During further restorations over 100 grave stones have been restored and re-erected at their original places. When digging for foundations new tombstones were discovered that had remained despite of the removals done in 1943 at the cemetery.

Opening times:
Monday through Friday 8 a.m. – 3 p.m.
At the moment the cemetery is closed due to the ongoing restoration work. However, it is possible to get a view of the cemetery from the terasse of the retirement home nearby.

WAEHRINGER CEMETERY

Friedhöf Währing
1180 Vienna, Semperstrasse 64A / Schrottenberggasse
Purchased in 1784 by the strongly growing Jewish community, the steadily expanding cemetery was used until 1879 as the central burial sote of the Jewish community. In total, 8593 gravestones are registered in the 21,209 m² large cemetery. Efforts are underway to renovate the cemetery keeper’s house and the cemetery.
The cemetery currently does not have regular maintenance and awaits the restoration of historically valuable gravestones. On the initiative of the Nationalratspräsident (president of the national council) Mag. Prammer, it has been decided to do a preliminary study on the rehabilitation costs of the cemetery.
Currently, for security reasons, unfortunately, the public cannot freely enter the cemetery.

CEMETERY FLORIDSDORF

1210 Vienna, Ruthnergasse 28
Originally built by the Floridsdorf Jewish community, the 5,566 m² cemetery was founded after the incorporation of Vienna’s suburbs into the Jewish community of Vienna. From 1873 until today, 1391 burials have taken place.
The cemetery is maintained with the support of the municipal district’s office, the Chevra Kadisha and private sources of the Jewish community.

For visitors :
Contact the IKG
Tel. +43/1/ 53 104

Friedhöfe Wien

ZENTRALFRIEDHOF I. TOR

Grabmal am alten jüdischen Friedhof1110 Wien, Simmeringer Hauptstraße

Im Zuge der Stadterweiterung im 19. Jahrhundert wurde im Jahre 1877 der jüdischen Gemeinde 260.000 m² als Begräbnisstätte überlassen. Bis 1916 wurden hier rd. 80.000 Verstorbene beerdigt. Von den 60.000 Gräbern wurden 1945 fast 3.000 durch fehlgeleitete Fliegerbomben zerstört.
Der Friedhof wird von Mitarbeitern der IKG – soweit es die beschränkten finanziellen Mittel ermöglichen – betreut.
Die Sanierung der 39 Ehrengräber seitens der Gemeinde Wien mit Hilfe des Bundesdenkmalamtes 2011 abgeschlossen. Darunter befindet sich jene von Adolf Fischhof, Alfred Gerngross, Karl Goldmark, Moritz Königwarter, Ignaz Kuranda, Kantor Solomon Sulzer und Otto Zuckerkandl.

Tel: +43-1/ 767 62 52

Orientierungsplan Israelitischer Friedhof, 1950

ZENTRALFRIEDHOF IV. TOR

1110 Wien, Simmeringer Hauptstraße 244

Dieser 250.000 m² große Friedhof wird ab 1916 belegt, nachdem die jüdische Abteilung am 1. Tor zu klein geworden war. Bis heute fanden hier 60.000 Gemeindemitglieder ihre letzte Ruhestätte, weiters die im Zuge der Umbettung vom Döblinger Friedhof in den Achtzigerjahren des vorigen Jahrhunderts Enterdigten, sowie in den Jahren 1938-1945 die sg. „nichtarischen“ Christen.
Der Friedhof wird von Mitarbeitern der IKG betreut und ist Sitz der Friedhofsverwaltung.
Von der MA 7 wurden 21 Ehrengräber 2008/09 saniert.

Tel: +43-1/ 767 62 52
Fax: +43-1/ 768 15 22
e-mail: friedhof-tor-IV@ikg-wien.at

1. April – 30. September:
So, Mo, Mi: 7 – 17 Uhr (Einlass bis 16:30)
Do: 7 – 19 Uhr (Einlass bis 18:30)
Fr und Erew Jom Tov: 7 – 15 Uhr (Einlass bis 14:30)

1. Oktober – 31. März:
So – Do: 8 – 16 Uhr (Einlass bis 15:30)
Fr : 8- 14 Uhr (Einlass bis 13:30)
An Schabbatot und jüdischen Feiertagen ist der Friedhof geschlossen.

Orientierungsplan Neuer Israelitischer Friedhof

FRIEDHOF IN DER “ROSSAU”

Grabstein Friedhof Seegasse 1090 Wien, Seegasse 9/Eingang Pensionistenheim

Dieser Friedhof reicht auf die Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts zurück und ist damit der älteste erhaltene jüdische Friedhof Wiens, ja der älteste Friedhofs Wiens überhaupt. Er stand bis 1783 in Verwendung. Erwähnung verdient der Umstand, daß die Grabsteine immer wieder von der Hochwasser führenden Donau weggeschwemmt wurden und nach Zurückweichen der Flut nur annähernd auf ihren ursprünglichen Platz wieder aufgestellt werden konnten. Erst die Donauregulierung schuf Abhilfe. Um die nach Schändung des Areals noch verbliebenen Grabsteine vor der Zerstörung zu bewahren, wurden diese im Jahre 1943 auf den Zentralfriedhof, 4. Tor, gebracht und dort vergraben. Erst 1984 wurden sie zurückgebracht und aufgestellt.
Der Friedhof wird heute vom Pensionistenheim des Kuratoriums umschlossen und vom Stadtgartenamt gepflegt.
Der ersten Sanierungsschritt mit etwa 20 Grabsteinen wurde Ende 2011 mit Hilfe der Gemeinde Wien und des Bundesdenkmalamtes abgeschlossen. Sie wurden nach einer genauen Vermessung des Geländes Dank israelischer rabbinischer Fachleute wurden sie an ihren historischen Orten wieder aufgestellt.
In weiteren Sanierungsabschnitten wurden über 100 Grabsteine restauriert und an ihren ursprünglichen Plätzen neu aufgestellt.
Im Zuge der Arbeiten wurden bei Fundamentgrabungen neue Steine entdeckt, die beim Abtransport 1943 am Friedhof verblieben sind und dort gesichert wurden.

Öffnungszeiten:
Montag bis Freitag von 8 bis 15 Uhr
Momentan ist der Friedhof wegen laufender Bau- bzw. Restauriertätigkeiten gesperrt,
Besichtigung vom Terrassenbereich des Seniorenheimes möglich.

WÄHRINGER FRIEDHOF

Friedhöf Währing
1180 Wien, Semperstraße 64A/ Schrottenberggasse

1784 von der stark gewachsenen jüdischen Gemeinde angekauft und ständig erweitert, diente der Friedhof bis 1879 als zentrale Begräbnisstätte der Gemeinde. Insgesamt konnten auf den 21.209 m² großen Friedhof 8.593 Gräber nachgewiesen werden, die Zahl der Bestatteten ist um ein Vielfaches höher.
Zur Zeit sind Bemühungen im Gange, das Friedhofswärterhaus und den Friedhof einer Renovierung zuzuführen. Der Friedhof ist derzeit ohne regelmässige Pflege und eine Restaurierung historisch wertvoller Grabsteine ausständig. Auf Initiative von Nationalratspräsidentin Mag. Prammer wurde die Erstellung einer Vorstudie zur Erhebung der Sanierungskosten beschlossen.

Derzeit aus Sicherheitsgründen leider nicht für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

FRIEDHOF FLORIDSDORF

1210 Wien, Ruthnergasse 28

Der ursprünglich von der IKG Floridsdorf errichtete 5.566 m² große Friedhof fiel nach der Eingemeindung des Vororts durch Wien an die Wiener Kultusgemeinde. Von 1873 bis heute fanden 1.391 Beerdigungen statt. Gepflegt wird der Friedhof mit Unterstützung der Bezirksvorstehung, der Chewra Kadischa und der Kultusgemeinde von privater Seite.

Für BesucherInnen:
Anmeldung in der IKG
Tel. +43/1/ 53 104